Record Label

Brave New World, the Album

Brave New World Album

Shyan Selah’s freshman album entitled Brave New World was released on September 2nd 2008 throughout North America by KOCH Entertainment (now eOne). The deal was a co op arrangement that included a business collaboration between Seattle based start up labels The Brave New World Record Company LLC, founded by Artist/Entrepreneur Shyan Selah, and High Powered Entertainment LLC, founded by Hip Hop Super Producer Jon Silva (E-40, Snoop Dogg, Tyrese, Kurupt).

Highlights of the Brave New World album included the publishing and licensing of songs for feature film and television productions. The club-bangin’ single “Concrete City” which was featured on the “One Love: Tru Ballin 2” DVD along exclusive footage of major NBA and NFL sports stars such as LeBron James and Allen Iverson; the film 1000 to 1: The Cory Weissman Story starring Beau Bridges; and the critically acclaimed drama, Camp X-Ray starring Kristen Stewart.

“Hollywood Blvd,” which went #1 on nationwide college radio was featured on the CBS/Paramount drama, NUMB3RS, and by Fox Sports for a special feature on All-Pro NFL Linebacker Terrell Suggs of the Baltimore Ravens. Other songs from Brave New World were licensed by television networks such as MTV and VH1.

The album was recorded in Encino, California at the prestigious House of Blues Studios, which is owned by Selah’s good friend and Blues Music Industry legend Gary Belz. Belz and his partner, Isaac Tigrett, are original co-founders of iconic music franchise venues such as the House of Blues, Hard Rock Café and BB King’s Blues Clubs. The House of Blues Studios served as a worthy compliment to the House of Blues Franchise of which Belz and Tigrett are no longer involved in but created along with Dan Akroyd in their efforts to bring rooted soul, blues and Country Music to the mainstream. House of Blues Studios however has been, and is still, the home lab to many superstar talents such as: Pink, Matchbox 20, Stevie Ray Vaughn, Nas and Macy Gray amongst countless others. Selah locked down the renowned studio for a period of 2 weeks during which time he went into a deep creative mode while collaborating with fellow artists, producers, musicians and entertainment execs who were on hand throughout the process. At certain points Selah had producers and mix engineers at multiple studios working at once with the home hub being House of Blues. Other studios in the making of this album include: Pacifique Studios (Beyonce, Jennifer Lopez, and Green Day, Prince) and Hawatha Studios (Snoop Dogg, Lil Wayne, Ciara, Faith Evans) in Los Angeles .

The studio served as a reunion Mecca for Selah where many of the album sessions were experienced with industry insiders such as: Steven Ray (Former Head of Urban at Capital Records), Fabian Cooke (Marky Mark, Ziggy Marley, Montel Jordan), Brad Fox (Former Head of A&R at Virgin Records), Kristopher Bond (Co-Founder of BUM Equipment), Jay Warsinske (Founder of IES), and Guitarist Dave “Dave O” Forman (Christina Aguilera, Aalyiah) who also added some electro soul licks on Selah’s “Hollywood Blvd” and “Hotta”. Childhood friend and longtime Producer/Songwriter Erik Willis (member of R&B group Shai and the former Head of Music for Wayans Bros Films) brought his uncanny studio passion to the sessions. Selah credits Erik Willis for his development of learning how to treat the studio like the gym and leave your soul in the vocal booth giving Willis the nickname of “Coach” while recording. Singer/Songwriter Ariel Paul (daughter of Multi-Grammy Award winning Alan Paul of The Manhattan Transfer) added her sultry vocals to the songs “Summer We Fell In Luv” and “Hollywood Blvd.” Longtime partner/producer and childhood friend DJ Rocdusa teamed up with his production partner Jay Dancsak and The Trails to collaborate with Selah on the majority of the album. They combined forces to create songs like “Concrete City,” “Hotta,” “Hollywood Blvd,” “Do It Momma (Kiss The Sky),” “My Musik,” “Oh My Godd,” and “Summer We Fell In Luv.”

The album was mixed by the legendary Booker T Jones III. The son of legendary Blues musician Booker T of Booker T and The MG’s, Booker T Jones III was a shining light to the Brave New World album project. Booker, who was accompanied by DJ Rocdusa throughout the mixing sessions, worked magic in House of Blues and Studio Pacifique. Booker’s work is well noted having engineered and mixed records that have sold over 300 million units worldwide on album projects for Mary J. Blige, Destiny’s Child, Brandy, Boyz 2 Men, and many many more.

“When you are working with producers and creating music a lot of people fail to realize just how important it is that you are in a studio room and with a sound/mix engineer that is attached to the music the same way the creators are. Booker knew how to merge his spirit with the project. The Mixologist in the studio is an absolute necessity for sound to be appropriately experienced. Booker was the best I’ve ever worked with and one of the most respected in the business. It was simply amazing watching him work on the board. ” – Shyan Selah

Booker T Jones III has since passed on. May his memory remain forever etched in our ears and hearts through the music he produced and mixed for the world to hear.

The Brave New World album was mastered by legendary Mastering Expert Eddie Schreyer at OASIS Studios. Eddie has mastered hundreds of hit records including projects for NE-YO, Rick Springfield, Keisha Cole, Akon, Kanye West, Johnny Cash, Christina Aguilera and many more.

The Brave New World Album is now being released as singles via The Brave New World Record Company and industry powerhouse INgrooves and will be re-released in full album form in 2018. This album has an amazing backstory that will be told via special interviews, posts, articles, and photos exclusively featured on this fan page. We thank you all for your interest and hope you enjoy one of the many creations of Shyan Selah.

The Brave New World Album is currently available digitally worldwide.

Album Track List:
1. Soul Myousic
2. Carpe Diem
3. Hustla
4. Hollywood Blvd
5. Summer We Fell in Luv
6. Concrete City
7. Do it Momma (Kiss the Sky)
8. Hotta
9. Luv Me or Leave Me Alone
10. F*** U Pay Me
11. Oh My Godd
12. My Musik
13. Six Six Six
14. Street Salvation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *